A mad week

So over the course of the week I have gone from being excited because Import-export guy says he finally has time to meet, to I’m gonna have to dump him and then back to yay he is making plans to meet.

Since we talked he is definitely making more of an effort.  Sometimes there may only be a brief exchange of messages but there have been very few occasions where I needed to start the conversation.  Then finally last Friday he says he has two free evenings, he wants to meet up.  Doh, it’s the week I’m out of town on business.  Instead he suggested he may be able to join me, he has an office there.  Then for the rest of the week nothing on the topic.

On Wednesday I had trouble sleeping.  I could not switch off and I started to worry because I had not heard anything from him about the meeting in Durban, I also convinced myself there would be no birthday celebration.  Nothing, I’m sure to do with a late coffee after a not so enjoyable evening.  Thursday night I managed to get an early night but woke early.  This time convinced that Durban was not going to happen and that he was definitely going to forget my birthday.  There I was at 5 am unable to sleep and writing you forgot my birthday, you’re dumped messages in my head.  Then at 7:30 he messaged me.  He was going away for the weekend and we chatted while he got ready to leave.

During this conversation he mentioned that he had been working on the Durban plan and would find out on Monday if it was possible.  It seems I should have a little more faith in him.  I guess if you can be a on a plane to China with less that 2 days notice you don’t need to recheck details for a local trip.  Plus it was a similar story with trying to arrange the first date where he checked early in the week if his ex-wife could babysit but as she was busy he did not mention this to me.

Perhaps being let down earlier this year is affecting me more than I care to admit.  I need to remember that Import-export guy is different.  He may not feel the need to provide me with regular progress reports, he just gets on and does what he says he will.

 

 

Leave a Reply

